Dominica – Country Rating | Info.


Country Rating (Please Rate This Country)

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (10 votes, average: 3.3 out of 5)
Loading ... Loading ...

Flag of DominicaThe Commonwealth of Dominica is in the Caribbean, north of Martinique and south of Guadeloupe. Dominica is divided into ten parishes: Saint Andrew, Saint David, Saint George, Saint John, Saint Joseph, Saint Luke, Saint Mark, Saint Patrick, Saint Paul and Saint Peter. Roseau is the capital. The island’s terrain is rugged and mountainous. Rivers include the Layou and the Roseau.

The climate is tropical with heavy rainfall.

Dominica has three National Parks. The Morne Trois Pitons National Park is a World Heritage site; it was inscribed for its tropical forest, volcanoes, fumaroles, hot springs, freshwater lakes and a thermal lake. Scenic areas in the Park include Titou Gorge, Emerald Pool and Middleham and Trafalgar Falls.

The Society for Historic Architectural Preservation and Enhancement aims to preserve traditional Dominican buildings. The Society’s work started in Roseau and has been extended to plantation buildings and other Colonial architecture.

Traditional wooden houses have verandahs and jalousie (louvre) windows. Decorative fretwork is a feature of these houses.

During the Colonial period, water mills operated machinery that crushed sugarcane. Today, a working mill can be seen in the Macoucherie Estate.

For More Information Please Visit

This entry is filed under D - First Letter Countries . You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Be the first to leave a comment.

Comments (with bad words will not be approved).